Committee: Education

Contact: Dale Specken, Chair - [email protected]

2021 Mission: The mission of the Education Committee is to enhance the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association’s (MSFCA) membership by providing high quality and current educational workshops at the annual conference and by promoting additional educational opportunities.

2021 Report: We are excited to be in Duluth for the MSFCA Conference after a very challenging 2020! Duluth is a great place for the conference. The DECC provides many quality classrooms spaces so that we can provide quality training for all our members.

The Education Committee is made up of members throughout the State of Minnesota and meets just three times annually. The rest of the work required to successfully present educational opportunities for Fire Chiefs is completed electronically by our various sub-committees throughout the year. The Education Committee is determined to bring in quality instruction for all members within our organization.

 Education Committee Goals:

  1. Understand that every chief is important to the MSFCA, therefore we must listen to and consider the needs of the state as a whole when establishing the various educational opportunities;
  2. Determine what timely topics currently and then locate the most highly regarded experts to present them to the membership;
  3. Recognize that it is vital to keep the conference affordable for all chief officers and therefore work within the allotted budget;
  4. Bring quality training and speakers to all MSFCA members and conference attendees.

The Education Committee is, by design, very flexible and welcoming. Every year, some committee members retire or leave the committee for greener pastures; however, due to the structure in place, we are able to blend new members into the system very easily. Let this fact be an offer for you to join our group.

The MSFCA is your association, if you want change, get involved. We did!

2021 Education Committee Members

  • Chair: Dale Specken, Hopkins, Fire Chief
  • Vice Chair: Judy Thill, Inver Grove, Fire Chief
  • Zack Bonnema, Chaska, Captain
  • David Brosnahan, Roseville, Fire Chief
  • Scott Carriveau, Maple Lake, Assistant Chief
  • Kim Cox, Eden Prairie, Admin
  • Mike Dobesh, Richfield, Assistant Chief
  • Tim Holmes, Brainerd, Fire Chief
  • Jacob Lindquist, State Fire Marshal
  • Chip Lohmiller, Cross Lake, Fire Chief
  • Rob Pearson, Maple Grove, Assistant Chief
  • Kristi Rollwagen, Mpls-St Paul Intl Airport
  • Ulie Seal, Bloomington, Fire Chief
  • Hugo Searle, Eagan, Fire Chief
  • Adam Wodtke, West Metro, Assistant Chief

Education Committee File Library