Committee: Code

Contact: Patrick Farrens, Chair - [email protected]

2021 Mission: The mission of the Code Committee is to develop the Minnesota fire code on an ongoing basis, to maintain an active posture of participation in the national model code process, to provide a forum for the identification, discussion and preparation of recommendations for fire code related issues submitted by any interested parties and to provide for the review of fire code related decisions plus.

2021 Report: The ICC model codes are reviewed every six years by the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association Code Committee in Minnesota. The Code Committee consists of professionals representing the fire service, building officials, architects, fire protection professionals and fire alarm designers.

With the adoption and implementation of the 2020 Minnesota State Fire Code in March 2021, the Committee now has time to evaluate the current code and prepare for the next code adoption process.

On behalf of the Committee, I would like to welcome one new committee member: Dan Moorhead, representing the American Fire Alarm Association. 

The Committee would like to thank the past Committee Chair Laura McCarthy, Assistant Chief/Fire Marshal for the Bloomington Fire Department, for her years of dedicated service to this Committee. Laura’s passion, dedication and knowledge will be missed.

The Code Committee is made up of dedicated professionals from several different disciplines. During code adoption years, we meet twice a month for about a half-day. We are always looking for chiefs interested in fire prevention, especially from the greater Minnesota area. If you have any recommendations or questions, don’t hesitate to contact Code Committee Chair Patrick Farrens at 763-494-6091 or email [email protected].

2021 Code Committee Members

  • Chair: Patrick Farrens, Maple Grove, Deputy Chief
  • Bill Beumer, Maple Grove, Fire Inspector
  • Tom Brace, National Fire Sprinkler Association
  • Brad Feist, Rogers, Fire Chief
  • Kevin McGinty, Deputy State Fire Marshal, State Fire Marshal Division
  • Tom Pitschneider, Fire Marshal, Shakopee Fire Department
  • Cary Smith, Fire Marshal, St. Louis Park
  • Dale Specken, Fire Chief, Hopkins
  • Forrest Williams, Supervisor, State Fire Marshal Division
  • Scott Futrell, Society of Fire Protection Engineers  Minn.
  • Dan Moorhead, American Fire Alarm Association – Minn.
  • Mallory Holmen, Building Official Representative
  • Thomas Jenson, State Fire Marshal Division, Deputy State Fire Marshal
  • Roger ‘Lars’ Larson, American Institute of Architects – Minn.
  • Scott McKown, Construction Codes and Licensing Division
  • Michael Post, St. Cloud, Fire Marshal
  • Kris Skow, Rogers, Deputy Fire Marshal
  • Angie Wiese, St. Paul, Fire Safety Manager
  • James Williamette, Building Official Representative
  • John Piper, Coon Rapids, Fire Chief

Code Committee File Library